Flower Doctor

After 6 months of disappointing shriveling and death, the plants in my house are rioting for proper care.

This was why I decided to pick up the new release ´╗┐Martha’s Flowers. ´╗┐Who better to turn to than Martha Stewart–the mother of gardening herself? This book is full of the beautiful photos and layout that Martha Stewart is known for in all areas of housekeeping. It befits a proper gardener, and it is a useful reference tool for those who want to know the “tricks of the trade” for buds and blossoms.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Advertisements

Worship

As one of those heavily involved in the yearly Passion Conference, Louie Giglio could not be more famed for emphasizing worship in our relationship with God. It’s a way of life, as he writes in his new book “The Air I Breathe: Worship as a Way of Life.”

I recommend this book to Christians seeking to truly envelop their entire existence in the worship of God.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Transform Us

Scott McKnight has written some interesting things on the Gospel.

And by interesting, what I mean is challenging. Thought-provoking.

His latest book, “Open to the Spirit,” is no different. Co-authored with the respected Dave Ferguson, “Open to the Spirit” tries to take a holistic look at the ministry of the Holy Spirit–not as Someone to be afraid of or to censure, but as Someone meant to transform us and to bring the very presence of God into our lives.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Fire on the Track

I am definitely an inspirational biography fan. From “Hero Tales” by Dave and Neta Jackson when I was young to my freshman-year-of-college-read “Unbroken” by Laura Hillenbrand, biographies have gripped and propelled me.

That’s why I picked up “Fire on the Track” by Roseanne Montillo. In the vein of “Unbroken,” this biography highlights the rise and triumph of several Olympic runners–living contemporary to Louis Zamperini, to boot. However, “Fire on the Track” also features its own novel-like writing style–at some points slowed down by this style, at others endowed with vivid form.

I recommend this biographical novel to anyone who enjoyed “Unbroken” or who likes to study the history of women in sports.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

A Survivor to History

As I write this in 2017–years after the war in Syria began and nearly two decades after the U.S. War on Terror started–I hear little news of Al-Qaeda.

Yet, as of this week, I heard plenty of ISIS.

Through the eyes of one woman whose life was horrendously made captive to its cruelty.

The Last Girl: My Story of Captivity and My Fight Against the Islamic State by Nadia Murad is–for all its realness–a harrowing look inside of nations and hearts affected by terror. Nadia witnessed the deaths of her family members before being made a sex slave who had to answer to the whims of the IS. Today, no longer in captivity, Nadia shares her story–a story that, sadly, still has many echoes in the world.

I recommend this book to those who are not only interested in current world affairs but who truly care about the lives affected by those events.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

The Crown

Just this week, I sat at the dinner table discussing the royal family with a Brazilian. And it suddenly dawned on me: Americans (in general, that is) adore the queen. The happenings of the royalty have always intrigued me and (I think) carried a certain degree of importance to even us Yankees.

So you can imagine my happiness when this book-lover found out this week that there is not only now an entire TV series explaining the rise of Queen Elizabeth but also a book that details her life.

With photographs.

Yes: pictures! What could make a history book better?

I, for one, am extremely excited for “The Crown: The Official Companion, Volume 1.” And I think other fans of the British crown will be too.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

When God…

The popular children’s series “When God…” is out with another edition: “When God Made You.” Much in the vein of “You Are Special” and “God Made You Special” (two books that I grew up on), this book emphasizes the uniqueness with which God carefully crafts each person–His special creations. Great used in the formative years to lay a foundation of self-image based on God’s image and wonderful as a resource for helping kids grasp the concept that each person is unique and special, I think this book (with its cute illustrations) will quickly find its way into church libraries and children’s book centers.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.